National Honor Society

The National Honor Society is an organization founded in 1921, to promote recognition of students who reflect outstanding accomplishments in the areas of scholarship, character, leadership, and service.

The Claiborne Academy Chapter of the National Honor Society is a chartered chapter and as such follows the National Constitution. Chapter bylaws govern the selection of members, service, requirements, officer responsibilities, and discipline and dismissal of members. A copy of the chapter bylaws and selection of member’s procedures are available upon request.

Induction into the Claiborne Academy Chapter of the National Honor Society is an honor based upon the principles of scholarship, character, leadership, and service. Potential members of the NHS must be a sophomore, junior or senior. The minimum standard for selection regarding scholarship shall be a cumulative average of 90% in all TOPS cumulative courses. Students must have attended CA for one semester. Potential members are first evaluated by the faculty. A faculty council then reviews the faculty evaluations, along with records of tardies, absences, and disciplinary actions, and information submitted by the student. After all reviews are complete, faculty council members cast private votes as to selection or non-selection for membership. A majority vote is required for membership.

Members of the NHS are to serve as role models and exhibit the qualities of honesty, kindness, courtesy, and integrity both in and out of the classroom. Members should show leadership in organizations, show appropriate classroom decorum at all times, act responsibly by completing tasks on time and avoiding tardiness. Members should always be willing to help others in need whether by word or deed. Each member is responsible for contributing to the group service project as defined by CA and the CA NHS sponsor. In addition, members are required to perform 3 individual service projects or 8 hours of approved community service as identified by the CA NHS sponsor.

Sponsor: Maria Haynes